top of page

First Person on Scene Level 4

First Person on Scene
Level 4

BTEC Level 4 Certificate for First Person on Scene (RQF) is part of the BTEC Professional Qualification framework and is designed to provide learners with the knowledge and skills required to work in prehospital care.

The newly designed FPOS course in now more intensive, designed to provide delegates with the skills necessary to treat casualties in medical emergencies prior to the intervention of the emergency services. This course is aimed at those working in high risk and hostile environments, those who work in or who want to work in, the prehospital care industry as first responders. FPOS Level 3 is a professional qualification which does not expire, however qualified personnel are required to maintain skills through CPD annually. This course is endorsed by the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh, Faculty of Prehospital Care.


FPOS Level 4 is taught in two parts:

Part 1: The first part of this course will be completed in your own time. You have 4 workbooks to complete. The workbooks and study manual are sent to you via email. All 4 units must be completed prior to scheduling your practical sessions.

Part 2: The second part of your training is the practical sessions delivered over 5 days together with the completion of units 5 and 6.

This course encompasses:

  • Roles and Responsibilities of a First Responder

  • Core Emergency Care

  • Recognising and Managing Trauma

  • Recognising and Managing Medical Conditions

  • Incident Management

  • Advanced First Aid Theory and Practical Skills

  • Triage

  • Stabilization of Accident and Trauma Victims

  • Assisting Paramedics

  • Official Handover Procedures

  • Safe Methods of Extracting Casualties

  • And more...


  • No Prior Knowledge or Experience Required

  • Prior First Responder or First Aid Experience is Advantageous


PBA Gold Logo Clear 2.png
RCoS Logo.jpg
SIA Endorsed.png
bottom of page